connections 625


September 2009

Peretz Lavie
Peretz Lavie

Technion, ATS Welcome New Presidents

October marks the changing of the guard, as Professor Peretz Lavie becomes the Technion’s next president, while long-time ATS National Board Member Joel S. Rothman assumes the presidency of the American Technion Society. 

Joel S. Rothman
Joel S. Rothman

Prof. Lavie, a renowned sleep medicine researcher, takes office October 1, as Professor Yitzhak Apeloig completes his two terms as president. The inauguration ceremony will be broadcast live from the Technion on Thurs. at 12 noon EST.

Watch Prof. Lavie’s Inauguration LIVE via the Technion Web site  (Note that you will need Windows Media Player to view.)

Mr. Rothman will be formally installed at the ATS National Board meeting October 27, succeeding Joan Seidel, who becomes Chairman of the Board.

Read more about Joel Rothman


Michael Aviram
Prof. Michael Aviram

Eating Dates Reduces Risk of Heart Disease

Professor Michael Aviram of the Faculty of Medicine has determined that eating dates daily could improve the quality of lipids (fats) in the blood without raising blood sugar levels, and can protect against heart disease.

Read more on Prof. Aviram’s research


Irwin and Joan Jacobs Dedicate New Sculpture

Joan and Irwin Jacobs at the dedication of the sculpture
Joan and Irwin Jacobs at the dedication of the sculpture

Dr. Irwin and Joan Jacobs presided at the recent dedication of a sculpture, which pays homage to their far-reaching contributions to the Technion, most recently to the graduate school that now bears their name. The monumental and striking latticed stainless-steel sculpture, mounted on basalt rock, was unveiled at a September 15 ceremony on the Technion campus.

Read more about the dedication


President Yitzhak Apeloig
President Yitzhak Apeloig

Yitzhak Apeloig to Receive Prestigious Prize

The American Chemical Society (ACS) will present its Frederic Stanley Kipping Award to Professor Yitzhak Apeloig, a pioneer in the use of computations based on the Theory of Quantum Mechanics, for predicting the physical and chemical properties of materials, as well as suggesting methods for preparing them.  Prof. Apeloig becomes the first Israeli chemist to receive the prize, considered the most important of its kind in silicon chemistry. The award will be presented in March 2010 in San Francisco.

Read the ATS press release about President Apeloig and the Kipping Award


Eitan Yaakobi
Eitan Yaakobi, a winner of the Marconi Society's Young Scholars Award

Technion Graduate Wins Young Scholar Award

Technion communication science graduate Eitan Yaakobi is among five winners worldwide of the New York-based Marconi Society’s Young Scholars Award for his work in the fields of computer communications and internet.  Mr. Yaakobi will receive the prize at the annual Marconi Awards Dinner in Italy October 9.

Read the Jerusalem Post story on Eitan Yaakobi and the Marconi Award



  ATS News
  Contact Us



Powered by Convio.