connections 625


October 2009

Sleep Technology on List of Top Ten Medical WatchPATInnovations for 2010

The technology behind the outpatient diagnosis of sleep-related breathing disorders -- first developed in the laboratory of Technion President Professor Peretz Lavie -- is among the Cleveland Clinic Medical Innovation Summit's "Top 10 Medical Innovations for 2010."

Read more

Prof. Lior Gepstein
Prof. Lior Gepstein

Scientists Create Heart Cells from Skin Cells

A team of scientists led by Prof. Lior Gepstein of the Faculty of Medicine has discovered a way to create beating heart cells using skin cellls reprogrammed to become stem cells. The findings, published in the latest issue of Circulation, could make it possible to clinically repair damaged human hearts.

Read more about Dr. Gepstein’s findings.

International School Students Create Video

Students in the inaugural class of the Technion International School of Engineering have produced a video for YouTube, the popular self-broadcasting website.  The video offers views of the school’s facilities and a look at student life on and off the Technion campus.  The International School held its opening ceremony in August, and welcomed its first 23 students. 

Technion YouTube video still

Watch the Video  |  Learn more about the International School of Engineering

The Technion’s own YouTube channel provides a global classroom with a portal to academic videos, lectures by Nobel Laureates and other prizewinners, general information about the Technion and more.

Visit the Technion’s YouTube Channel

National Board Meeting in Detroit

Joel S. Rothman
ATS President
Joel S. Rothman

When the ATS National Board of Directors convenes in Detroit early next week, the ATS will formally welcome its new president, Joel S. Rothman, who will succeed Joan Seidel, the new Chairman of the Board. They will be joined by Technion President Professor Peretz Lavie, former President Professor Yitzhak Apeloig and other members of the Technion administration. Both Prof. Apeloig and Dr. Stephen Laser, who has just completed six years as ATS President and Chairman of the Board, will be honored for their commitment to the ATS and the Technion. The Detroit Chapter has been an integral part of the planning for the events surrounding the Board meeting including a pre-meeting “Technion Shabbat” at Temple Israel featuring President Lavie as the keynote speaker. 

Nobel Laureates Are Past Harvey Prize Recipients

Recent Nobel Prize winners, Professor Elizabeth Blackburn (medicine), and Professor Ada E. Yonath (chemistry) are past recipients of the Technion’s prestigious Harvey Prize. The Harvey Prize celebrates outstanding efforts in science, technology, health and peace, and is often seen as a strong precursor to the Nobel Prize. Prof. Blackburn of the University of California received the Harvey Prize in 1999 in recognition of her pioneering discoveries concerning telomers, the ends of chromosomes. Prof. Yonath of the Weizmann Institute of Science received the Harvey Prize in 2002 for her breakthrough crystallographic studies on the ribosome.  The Harvey Prize is named for and was established in 1971 by the late Leo Harvey, an ATS supporter from Los Angeles. 

Learn more about the Harvey Prize

Join Us!

The annual ATS mission, Shaping Israel’s Future: Technion 2010 will take place June 1-11, 2010.  For more information contact Irma Sarisohn, Associate VP of Programs at, or (212) 407-6320. 

Read more about the mission




  ATS News
  Contact Us



Powered by Convio.